Skip to content

The First Week

August 10, 2010

Quito: beautiful city or beautifullest?

This is what I get to look at every day.

More photos here:

La Fundación Cimas (where we have our classes)

El Centro Cultural

Sorry for the lack of updates. My host family has internet, but I’m still having issues with it, so for now my only access is when I’m at school or at an internet cafe. Sorry Skype friends. They’ve also been keeping us pretty busy. Brief recap of the week:

Tuesday they picked us (me + the other 4 students in the language pre-session) up from the hotel at 10:30 and brought us to Cimas for orientation, where we met our professors and the Cimas staff. Then we went home with our host families. All I’ll say right now is that my host family is awesome and they give me way too much food.

Wednesday and Thursday we had class, then Friday we got a tour of Quito. Cimas is on the northern end of the city, so we took the trolley bus all the way to the end of the line (near the southern tip of the city, but seriously, it stretches on forever), then came back to the “cultural center,” the oldest part of the city, where all the government buildings and old churches are. I’ll let the pictures speak for themselves.

This weekend happened to be Ecuador’s bicentennial celebration (!) <Edit: It was actually the bicentennial celebration of Quito’s independence, which happened before the formation of the modern republic of Ecuador>. We went back to the Centro on Saturday night to watch the festivities and fireworks. I neglected to bring my camera, unfortunately, but it was really cool to see the whole city gathered “downtown” like that. Today is the actual independence day, but the government moved the official holiday to Friday so that people could have a long weekend. I’m pretty sure there are going to be more celebrations here in Quito, but I think we’re going to take the weekend to go to Baños instead. I’m hoping to convince the others to go bunjee jumping (I’m sure it’s perfectly safe, Mom).

Gotta get back to class now, so pardon the lack of details. Suffice it to say that I love pretty much everything about this place: the people, the food, the climate, the mountains, and especially the language. My number one goal for right now is just to soak it all in.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. feastings permalink
    August 10, 2010 5:34 PM

    Looks and sounds amazing. I want a picture of every meal, please. ; ) I’m so very glad that you are settling in and enjoying yourself.

  2. August 10, 2010 7:49 PM

    Every meal? I’d have to start my own food blog! Seriously though, I’ve discovered how difficult it is to capture food well. Major respect for your talents over at Feastings. 😀

  3. August 10, 2010 9:51 PM

    Food is good! Food is good! Food is good! And stuff!

    Wow. Ecuador is beautiful. Color me jealous!

  4. Jeremias Sohlstrom permalink
    August 12, 2010 7:32 PM

    I’m glad that after 2 weeks or whatever you are finally getting a chance to go to the banos. I don’t know how you ever held it that long. Glad I’m not your kidneys.

Leave a Reply

