Skip to content

My Reading List

September 8, 2010

Since coming to Ecuador, these are the books I’ve added to my eternal reading list:

Las Venas Abiertas de America Latina -Eduardo Galeano [The Open Veins of Latin America] (Gift from Hugo Chavez to Barack Obama)

Cien Años De Soledad -Gabriel Garcia Marquez [100 Years of Solitude]

Guns, Germs, and Steel -Jared Diamond

One of my professors also reminded me that I really want to read Sagan’s Demon Haunted World. Not getting my hopes up about finding that here, but it would seriously make my life if I did.

Currently reading:

Race Against Time -Stephen Lewis

Mountains Beyond Mountains -Tracy Kidder

Philosophical Essays -Bertrand Russell

What am I missing? What are you reading these days- or, now that it’s not summer anymore for UMN people, what would you be reading if you had the time?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Tarini permalink
    September 11, 2010 10:09 PM

    Island- Aldous Huxley
    The Portable Atheist- Christopher Hitchens
    Slander- Ann Coulter

    and for a splash of zombie humor,
    One Bloody Thing After Another- Joey Comeau

  2. Kaelee permalink
    September 13, 2010 12:57 AM

    David! I just found this neat project of yours, and I must say – quite impressed. Brilliant idea, and I’ve been entertained by many of your musings, so I think I might check back frequently haha… BUT in response to your post and in the interest of time:

    Guns, Germs, and Steel = highly recommended!!
    I’m reading Infidel (for the 2nd time) by Ayaan Hirsi Ali and The Chomsky-Foucault Debates on Human Nature. Too bad classes seem to plot against any pleasure reading I try to accomplish. Enjoy classes!

  3. Krystina permalink
    September 14, 2010 10:40 PM

    Hey, I think I saw a link to this on your facebook a while back and I’ve been meaning to check it out! Definitely recommend Gabriel Garcia Marquez, I don’t know if you have also heard of “Chronicles of a Death Foretold,” definitely an exercise in alternative plot form. Also, if you’ve never read anything by Richard Feynman, “The Pleasure of Finding Things Out” is a good read for reminding us why we go into science. I started it and never finished it and now I can’t find it in the libraries. Hope everything is going well!

  4. September 15, 2010 10:52 AM

    Thanks guys!

    Tarini: 1. How is it? I’m a huge Huxley fan, though I’ll admit I’ve only read Brave New World. 2. What’s your favorite reading from that so far? I think I made it through about a third of them. 3. wtf. 4. Yessss I love Joey Comeau. Do you read asofterworld then as well?

    Kaelee: I hope to get around to reading Infidel sometime too. I’ve only seen her in a few video clips; it sounds like a fascinating and depressing story.

    Krystina: Feynman is the bomb. Hope you manage to get your hands on it again! We should talk science things when I get back 🙂

  5. Niketa permalink
    September 15, 2010 9:24 PM

    Hey david!

    I was stalking your facebook after facebook told me i should reconnect with you, and it brought me here. Loving the whole blogging thing you have going, fabulous idea. A note on mountain beyond mountains, I have it if you want to borrow it when you get back but I thought it got a little drab in the middle, but over all it is a good read, very informative. Hope you are having fun! and please keep blogging about your trip because its actually quite entertaining.

  6. September 15, 2010 9:32 PM

    Thanks for the offer, Niketa. It’s actually one of the 4 books I brought with me, and I just finished my second run through it yesterday. How’s the new semester treatin’ ya?

Leave a Reply

