Skip to content

Just Another Silly Travel Blog

September 18, 2010

So I’ve been majorly putting off blogging about last weekend’s trip to Cuenca, mostly because that would mean I’d have to sort and edit all the pictures I took on the way. Post-trip David keeps getting annoyed with mid-trip David’s trigger-happiness, especially when they’re all basically pictures of the exact same thing from maybe slightly different angles. I’m not even a good photographer you guys; you’d think I’d learn to just point, shoot, and get over it.

A blog post would also imply thinking: I’d have to DESCRIBE the trip and stuff, and maybe even wax historical about the colossal brutality and oppression signified by Cuenca’s beautiful churches, built upon ruins of Incan temples that are themselves monuments to their bloody conquest of the Cañari before them. And I’m a little sick of thinking these days; nothing good ever comes of it.

So here’s a nice little filler post for you, just to let you know that I am indeed alive. I promise something of substance soon, maybe after I turn in my big colonialism paper on Monday. The next post will probably involve graffiti and/or epidemiological data. I can practically hear you shaking with anticipation.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 2:33 PM

    So, which is better: (1) taking too many pictures, or (2) never taking any pictures.

    See, I’ve hardly held a camera in my life, and when I do, it’s holding someone else’s camera, but whether that’s okay or not, I don’t know. Thoughts?

    (I know this is your blog, David, but my name is David, too, so I have taken the liberty of asking a thought-provoking question that the good readers of this blog can respond to. They won’t, but I’ll ask the question anyway to make myself feel better.)

  2. September 22, 2010 11:13 AM

    Right now, I’d definitely go with never taking pictures. Especially since I’ve totally been playing the “camera-wielding tourist” role to a T. Ugh.

Leave a Reply

