Skip to content

Quito: city of graffiti

September 22, 2010

The other day, my Spanish professor gave me an awesome gift: a compilation of graffiti found here in Quito. I think you can really tell a lot about a city/society from its graffiti. Some are cynical, many are angry, some are hopefully idealistic. All of them gave me pause. I personally have not spotted any of these, but hey, Quito’s a big city, ok?

Translating these would totally kill their meaning, so I’m not going to do it. Sorry, Spanish-deprived readers!

hoy robé un libro

La democracia es tan real como Dios

Nuestra única deuda es con la alegría de los niños

Y si entre todos le damos una patada a esta gran burbuja gris

No fume droga / Véndasela a los gringos

Un abuelo sonriente / 20 nietos felices / 9 millones de huérfanos

Un barril de crudo / Un pueblo desnudo

La selva precede al hombre / el desierto lo sucede

Fluye petróleo / Sangra la selva

¿Por qué no privatizan al hambre?

Tengo una urgencia verde que el asfalto no comprende

Amo lo que tengo / de Indio

La sociedad construye abismos, / hay niños vendiéndolas en las calles

Matemos el blanco y negro de nuestra utopías

Each one gives me hope, if only for representing tiny ruptures in the suffocating gloss of apathy that is our modern existence.

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 1, 2014 5:59 PM

    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve visited this website before but after going through many of the articles I realized it’s new to me.

    Nonetheless, I’m certainly delighted I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back frequently!

Leave a Reply

