Skip to content

Ecuadorian Politics

October 1, 2010

Since Ecuador is technically in a state of emergency, I figured I owe you at least one blog post on it.

We were on the second day of a two-day field trip to observe the integration of traditional indigenous medicine in hospitals and clinics in Otavalo and Cotacachi, two cities in the northern Sierra with large indigenous populations, when we heard the first news of unrest in Quito. I’ll spare you my attempts to sum up what happened and let you read this article instead. We ended up being stuck in Otavalo for another night, since all interprovincial traffic was suspended for a while, and our program decided it was safest for us to wait it out up there. We ended up traveling back to Quito without incident this morning.

As I write this, everything has pretty much calmed down. The streets are open, the buses are running, and people are at work as usual. The administration of the police force is kind of in limbo right now (pretty much everyone involved in the strike/coup is gonna get the axe), but law and order have been restored. It will be interesting to see how everything shakes out in the next few weeks. Long story short: if you’ve seen scary stuff in the news, I am fine, and hopefully this country will be fine too. I have a feeling President Correa is going to gain a lot of sympathy from this, which is good, because he is doing great things for Ecuador. [Edit: Of course, politics is complex, and so in hindsight I feel that I have to qualify this oversimplified analysis. While I do appreciate many of the policies Correa has implemented during his presidency, I can’t say I give him my unequivocal support.]

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Tarini permalink
    October 3, 2010 10:34 AM

    David, I didn’t hear a peep about this event until reading your post. I’m sorry that I’m more well-versed in the useless antics of Delaware politicians than in international crises; gonna go ahead and blame the MSM for that one.

    Glad you’re okay and keep us updated.

  2. October 4, 2010 2:52 PM

    Lamestream media. Don’t be sorry, Christine O’Donnell is a harbinger of doom for the entire world. I feel that I am only slightly exaggerating when I say that.

Leave a Reply

