Skip to content

Photoblag

October 6, 2010

I have finally managed to upload all my latest photos to the interwebs. The trip from Riobamba to Alausí is here, the Inca ruins are here, Cuenca is here, Otavalo is here, and jungle photos from last weekend’s trip to Mindo are here. Since that’s quite a lot to subject y’all to, I’ve picked out a few of my favorites for you (below the fold so the main page still loads ok).

Ecuador's first church, with snowy Chimborazo in the background

A lake in the central highlands between Riobamba and Alausi

Ruins at the Incapirca archaeological site near Cuenca. In the foreground are Cañari ruins, with the half-demolished Inca Temple of the Sun in the background

Panoramic of the Incapirca ruins

I conquered this rock, just like the Inca Empire conquered the Andes.

Mural in Cuenca. "An ideal life for the children..."

Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception, Cuenca

A statue in the park outside the hospital in Otavalo

El Hospital San Luis de Otavalo, one of the places I considered for my internship

The sleepy town of Mindo

We rode this cable car deep into the jungle

Hope you like!

P.S. I’m still waiting on some financial information, but it looks almost guaranteed that I’ll stay for spring semester. Major mixed feelings on this one: I’m out of my mind with excitement, but it’s going to be really tough to be this far away from you guys for so long.

P.P.S. The political situation here seems to have stabilized, though admittedly I’ve been a bit too busy this week to watch the news. There’s a lot of hot air flying around, but the police are back in the streets and the country is up and running like normal.

P.P.P.S. Sorry for the awkward lack of spacing between the photos and the blog sidebar. Too busy to fiddle with formatting right now.

P.P.P.P.S. It looks like we’re going to use our last 3-day weekend to go to Esmeraldas. This traveling thing is getting almost as ridiculous as these postscripts.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    October 6, 2010 7:59 PM

    Nice pics! Also, very cool you’re probably staying. You’re right it will be tough, but I think it will be one of those “tough but worth it” situations 🙂

  2. October 9, 2010 4:49 PM

    Oh my gosh, these pictures are great! I feel like I’m looking at a Wikipedia page about Ecuador! Really cool! Soy impressionado. Meaning, I’m impressed. Or, maybe, I’m impressionable. Either way, thanks for the pictures!

Leave a Reply

