Skip to content

Where’s David?

November 1, 2010

Here’s a brief recap of all that has happened since my last post, oh so long ago:

Finished up my last week of classes. Woo! As I was leaving I managed to snag from Cimas a Spanish copy of Where There Is No Doctor, the friggin’ gold standard of rural community health.

4-day spur-of-the-moment trip to Bogotá, Colombia. Um, what? I’m still struggling to believe this happened. Bogotá is an amazing city though, and I definitely want to get back there someday, and hopefully see more of the Colombia if possible. I can’t help but feel sad that such a beautiful country with such wonderful people has such a terribly exaggerated reputation of drug trafficking and violence. To be honest, I felt far safer the entire time in Bogotá than I did in Quito. Here are some pictures!

Downtown Bogotá from the mountainside

The Plaza Simón Bolívar

We paused our bike tour for a llama break.

Moved to Tena. It is hot. No internet at my house; TGFIC*. Needless to say, my communication with the outside world is going to be somewhat inhibited during this time.

A 25-hour shift in the hospital. Not even going to try to describe all the crazy things that happened during this. Now I know the feeling my dad was describing when he would say he was “post-call,” though to be honest I got way more sleep than any of the actual doctors/residents/nurses that night.

Went on a super-intense hike through the jungle. Also swam in a lagoon, drank chicha, and danced to indigenous music played by my host father’s friend and like 15 of his grandchildren. The perks of living in the Amazon. More pictures!

The overgrown hiking trail. Pura selva.

Climbing up waterfalls. Nbd.

Some flowers or whatever.

[Update: the full album is here]

That pretty much brings us up to now. It’s hard to believe that tomorrow will mark 3 months since I first stepped wide-eyed off the plane in Quito, and even harder to believe that my program ends in less than a month and a half. Current plans are to travel to Peru immediately after, and fly to Minnesota from Lima on the 20th of December, so if you’re in the greater Twin Cities area any time between then and the 3rd(ish) of January, let me know!

*First person to guess this acronym gets… I dunno. Sumthin.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Aimee permalink
    November 1, 2010 12:06 PM

    Thank God for Internet Cafe.

    Also, look me up when you are in town! Glad to hear you are doing well! Pics are sweet.

    gotta go. In class now.

Leave a Reply

