Skip to content

Home(?)coming

January 5, 2011

Time flies. It’s a tired cliche, but its truth is undeniable. And so, just like that, here I am in Quito once again.

It was way harder leaving home this time. Instead of the adventure of exploring a brand new country, I felt that all I had to look forward to this time was the daunting task of designing and implementing the research study that will be the sole academic activity of this whole semester. Time with family and friends was all too short. And my brief visits to campus revealed just how much I was really missing by choosing to spend my entire junior year abroad.

But the moment I stepped off the plane in Quito, all those negative thoughts vanished, and I couldn’t help but grin as I took a deep breath of the warm (relative to 10°F Minneapolis, at least) mountain air.

It’s good to be back.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Nick permalink
    January 5, 2011 10:15 PM

    Very cool. Was great to see you when you were back in the states! I know you’ll have a very awesome time down there.

    Question: Do you have access to a decent internet connection that will allow you to watch a 30 minute YouTube vid? I’ll post it on your wall in case you do 🙂 I believe I talked about it at the bar. Watching it again and it is epic. (Let me know if you can’t watch it, and I may find it in my heart to type it up for you.)

Leave a Reply

