Skip to content

Se acabó.

April 21, 2011

It has been two weeks and three days since the last post on this blog. And, as predicted, they have been a blur. It’s hard to believe that the semester is over. It’s harder to believe that I’m actually going home in three days. And it’s freakin’ impossible to wrap my head around the fact that now, technically, I’m a senior in college.

What’s there to say? Today has been a whirlwind of emotions: stress, euphoria, melancholy, excitement, relief, and exhaustion. It’s too much to process right now, or ever for that matter. But my overwhelming feeling is that now, having fulfilled my responsibilities for the semester, I’m just ready to go home. Especially after having said goodbye to my host brothers last night, and my Cimas family and classmates today, it’s hard to escape the feeling that there’s nothing left for me here.

This will be my last entry in this blog. I knew this post was coming, and I haven’t been looking forward to it at all. I’ve really enjoyed having this little blog, even though I’ve been bad at updating it. It has been great to feel like I could share my experiences with folks “back home,” using this blog as another way of staying connected. But perhaps more importantly, it has become an outlet for me, a chance to write about the things I think are important.

Because of this, I’m starting a new blog, which you can find here (though I can’t imagine why on Earth you’d want to). It will probably still have a fair amount to do with Ecuador (especially during the first few weeks of culture shock and readjustment to the States), since this little country has become such a big part of my life, though I will probably branch out into new and significantly more controversial territory, as well as use it as a space for more personal reflections. But the overall theme will be the same: how do we make sense out of this crazy messed-up world? And what the hell do we do about it?

I hope to see you there.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

